Darkness, Part 4

He had tucked himself away in the back room, typing feverishly away at his keyboard.  The sound of his fingers tapping against the thing wafted through the house like music.

I had only just returned a short time before, having made my daily escape to the grocery.  The paper bag filled with the fruits of my labor sat precariously on the kitchen counter as I made ready to put each item in its designated location.  The house was favorably quiet for once.  Just then, in mid thought, there was a loud knock at the door.  I stood there still and quiet.  The loud knocking continued and his voice called out from the back room to answer the “damned door already!”

I opened the door cautiously.

The shiny gold star caught my attention.  I knew the officer well.

“Good day, is your husband at home?”

“Yes, he’s in the back , I’ll call him”.

“That’s alright, I’ll get him.  Where is he?”

I was dumbfounded.  Get him?  What was going on?

“He’s in the back room.  End of the hall.”

There was no thank you, no explanation.  The shiny gold star walked past me and I watched it disappear around the corner.  Muffled sounds echoed down the hallway towards me – heated words, objects hitting the floor and then nothing.  I hadn’t moved.  I stood there waiting and wondering.

Then, as if by magic, the shadowy cast of the two creeped along the floor boards towards me. The shiny gold star held one arm of the man I called husband as they walked towards the front door.  Husband looked accusingly at me as they passed by, revealing his hands cuffed behind him.   I watched helplessly as the pair disappeared into the daylight.  I closed the door, grinning widely.

Leave a comment